The Force at work / La Force en action

The Force at work / La Force en action
As the past is removed, a new beginning emerges.

Wednesday, October 28, 2015

THE METAs what a night!

From left to right: Eloi ArchamBaudoin, Lucinda Davis, Davide Chiazzese and Jennifer Roberts

What a night! The evening began with the arrival of the various theatre people: actors, set designers, producers, costume designers: all decked out and looking good. A cocktail precedes the awards and there is sooo much excitement in the air. Then the show begins. The show was delightful with hosts Gitanjali Jain in a stunning red dress and James Loye dapper in a tux.

The big winner of the evening was HOSANNA, an original screenplay by Michel Tremblay translated into English by John Van Burek and Bill Glassco,  who won the META for best indy production, best director Mike Payette, best supporting actor Davide Chiazzese and best lead actor Eloi ArchamBeaudoin! I saw that electrifying play and the rewards were well deserved.


Outstanding Lead Performance – Actor

Eloi ArchamBaudoin — Hosanna (Tableau D’Hôte Theatre)

Outstanding Lead Performance – Actress

Lucinda Davis — random (Black Theatre Workshop & Imago Theatre)

Outstanding Supporting Performance – Actor
Davide Chiazzese — Hosanna (Tableau D’Hôte Theatre)

Outstanding Supporting Performance – Actress
Award sponsored by Canadian Actors’ Equity Association
Jennifer Roberts — Chloe’s Choice The True But Not Entirely Reasonable Holiday Fable of Chloe Rebecca Ramadan, Aged 9 4/5 (Geordie Productions)

Outstanding Direction
Mike Payette — Hosanna (Tableau D’Hôte Theatre)

Outstanding Ensemble
The Mighty Carlins — Chip Chuipka, Alain Goulem & Mike Hughes (ASM Performing Arts)

Outstanding Set Design
Pierre-Étienne Locas — Travesties (The Segal Centre for Performing Arts)

Outstanding Costume Design
Louise Bourret — Travesties (The Segal Centre for Performing Arts)

Outstanding Lighting Design
Kimberly Purtell — We Are Not Alone (The Segal Centre for Performing Arts & Crow’s Theatre)

Outstanding Sound Design
Peter Cerone — random (Black Theatre Workshop & Imago Theatre)

Outstanding Original Composition
Matthew Barber & Justin Rutledge — The Graduate (The Segal Centre for Performing Arts)

Outstanding New Text (Original or Adaptation)
Julie Tamiko Manning & Matt Miwa — The Tashme Project: The Living Archives (Tashme Productions)

Outstanding Contribution to Theatre
Zach Fraser: Puppet & Mask Design — The Nisei and the Narnauks (Persephone Productions)

Outstanding Emerging Artist
Virgilia Griffith: Performance — Gas Girls (Black Theatre Workshop)

Outstanding Community Production
Hairspray the Broadway Musical — Côte Saint-Luc Dramatic Society (CSLDS)

Outstanding PACT Production
Travesties — The Segal Centre for Performing Arts

Outstanding Independent Production
Hosanna — Tableau D’Hôte Theatre

No comments:

Post a Comment